• Home
  •   Business & Finance

30 individuals, organisations receive 'Bangabandhu National Agriculture Award 1419'

13 December,2014

RTNN News Desk: Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina on Saturday distributed the 'Bangabandhu National Agriculture Award 1419' and laid importance on making the farmers aware of the negative impacts of excess use of fertilizer, pesticides, and called for promoting natural pest management in all areas of agriculture.

A total of thirty individuals and organisations were given the 'Bangabandhu National Agriculture Award 1419' in different categories for their contribution to the respective fields. Of them, five were given gold, eight silver and 17 bronze medals.

Sheikh Hasina, on this occassion, urged the educated youths not to neglect the agriculture as a profession. "It's a matter of pride that an educated youth would find self- employment in his paternal farm job applying all modern technologies and related information," she said.

Hasina expressed her firm determination to free Bangladesh from poverty and hunger by 2021, and reduce poverty at least 10 percent in the next four years of its tenure.

Among the awardees, five individuals and organisations received gold medals, Tk 25,000 and a certificate each, while eight individuals and organisations received silver medals, Tk 15,000 and a certificate each and 17 individuals and organisations bronze medals along with Tk 7,500 and a certificate each.


Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina distributed the medals, cash and certificates among the winners at a function held at the city’s Osmani Memorial Auditorium.


The gold medal recipients are Maching Nu Marma of Bandarban, Bangladesh Institute of Nuclear Agriculture (BINA), Shamsuddin Kalu of Langolkot, Saidunnesa of Kishoreganj and Germplasm Centre of Bangladesh Agricultural University.


The silver medal recipients are: Maj Gen Salauddin Miazee (GOC of Rangpur), Marjina Begum of Jhenidah, Dr M Anwar Hossain of Dinajpur, Abu Hanif Moral of Khulna, Chittagong Meridian Agro Limited of Chittagong, Alhaj Selim Reza of Natore, Mozammel Huq of Chittagong and Abdul Gafur of Gaibandha.


The 17 people who received the bronze medal are: Bagher Bazar Livelihood Field School, Farida Parveen of Sathkhira, Dr Manabendra Nath Sarker of Comilla, Manjur Hossain of Comilla, Ankhi Moni Krishi Khamar of Pabna, Salahuddin Ujjal of Naogaon, Arpana Rani Mistri of Sathkhira, Anju Sarker or Jessore, Ahid Sheikh of Rangpur, Humayun Kabir of Moulvibazar, Rajendra Nath Roy of Nilphamari, Azizul Huq of Feni, Intekhabul Hamid of Mymensingh, Jahedul Huq of Comilla, Jatiswar Mohastabir of Rangamati, Belal Hossain Sarder of Bogra and Hafizur Rahman of Pabna.

Agriculture Minister Matia Chowdhury and Fisheries and Livestock Minister Md Sayedul Haq were also present at the function held with Agriculture Secretary Dr SM Nazmul Islam in the chair.

Other News(Business & Finance)

Farmers must pay tax: Finance Minister

“It is time for farmers to realise that they, too, must pay taxes because many have meanwhile become big farmers,” Muhit . . . Detail

‘Stern action against traders who hoarding’

Commerce Minister Tofail Ahmed has warned of stern action against the traders who are hoarding products in a bid to make . . . Detail

Acting Editor: Elias Hossain, Golam Rasul Plaza (2nd Floor), 404 Dilu Road, New Eskaton, Dhaka-1000
Phone: +880-2-8312857, Fax +880-2-8311586, News Room Mobile: +880-1674757802; Email: rtnnimage@gmail.com