Mustafiz in ICC ODI team of 2015

02 December,2015

RTNN News Desk: Twenty-year-old left-arm pace bowler Mustafizur Rahman, who burst on to the scene over the last year, has become the first ever player from Bangladesh to make it to the ICC ODI Team of the Year.

Mustafizur’s reward is indicative of Bangladesh’s progress over the last 18 months where the Tigers won back-to-back ODi series against South Africa, Pakistan, India and Zimbabwe.

The International Cricket Council released their ODI and Test team of 2015 on Wednesday, where Englishman Alastair Cook was named as the Test captain while South African AB de Villiers was named as the ODI captain.

Mustafizur’s ODI career kicked off with a match-winning 5/50 against India in the three-match series in June. The left-arm pacer from Satkhira tormented the Indians further as he took 6/43 in the following match to become the first bowler in history to take 11 wickets in first two career matches.

Mustafizur played nine ODIs till date and has taken 26 wickets at an average of 12.34.

In 2009, Bangladeshi all-rounder Shakib al Hasan was named in the 2009 ICC Test Team of the Year.

The ICC Test and ODI teams were chosen by a specially appointed selection panel chaired by the ICC’s Cricket Committee chairman and former India captain Anil Kumble.

The qualification period ran from September 18, 2014 to September 13, 2015 and the selection panel included past greats of the world game including former West Indies fast bowler Ian Bishop, ex England batsman Mark Butcher, former Australia women’s captain Belinda Clark and G Viswanath, Deputy Editor of The Hindu & Sportstar.

The Chairman of the ICC Awards Selection Panel, Anil Kumble, said: “I would like to congratulate all the players for their selection in the Test and ODI teams of the year. It is an achievement for each of them to be proud of and a recognition for their good performances in the qualifying period.

“Team selection is one of the toughest jobs and when you have a large pool of outstanding players to select from in a 12-month period then it becomes even more difficult. It was a particularly busy year, with a series of stellar performances throughout the Test and ODI formats, not least in a hugely successful ICC Cricket World Cup 2015, which has greatly enhanced the popularity and profile of the game internationally.

“Testament to the quality of cricket played is the calibre of players to have missed out on selection. While selecting these squads, the selectors considered various combinations and took into account several factors in overall performances. Congratulations to all of the players on their selections.”

ICC ODI Team of the Year 2015

Tillakaratne Dilshan (SL)

Hashim Amla (SA)

Kumar Sangakkara (SL) (wicketkeeper)

AB de Villiers (SA) (captain)

Steven Smith (Aus)

Ross Taylor (NZ)

Trent Boult (NZ)

Mohammed Shami (Ind)

Mitchell Starc (Aus)

Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh)

Imran Tahir (SA)

12th: Joe Root (Eng)

ICC Test Team of the Year 2015

David Warner (Aus)

Alastair Cook (Eng) (captain)

Kane Williamson (NZ)

Younis Khan (Pak)

Steven Smith (Aus)

Joe Root (Eng)

Sarfraz Ahmed (Pak) (wicketkeeper)

Stuart Broad (Eng)

Trent Boult (NZ)

Yasir Shah (Pak)

Josh Hazlewood (Aus)

12th: Ravichandran Ashwin (Ind)

Other News(Cricket)

None of us had dinner after India defeat: Mashrafe Mortaza

Bangladesh captain Mashrafe Mortaza has revealed that he and his team-mates skipped dinner after their gut-wrenching one . . . Detail

Sarfraz made Pakistan`s new captain

Wicket-keeper batsman Sarfraz Ahmed was, on Tuesday, named captain of Pakistan`s Twenty20 team, replacing Shahid Afridi . . . Detail

Acting Editor: Elias Hossain, Golam Rasul Plaza (2nd Floor), 404 Dilu Road, New Eskaton, Dhaka-1000
Phone: +880-2-8312857, Fax +880-2-8311586, News Room Mobile: +880-1674757802; Email: