Final spot up for grabs for Tigers

02 March,2016

RTNN News Desk: A spirited Bangladesh will eye final of the ongoing Asia Cup when they take Pakistan in their fourth match in Dhaka today (Wednesday).

The match will begin at Shere Bangla National Cricket Stadium, Mirpur at 7:30pm and will be telecast live on BTV (Bangladesh Television), Star Sports 1, Maasranga Television and GTV (Gazi Television).

Bangladesh are delighted as they already bagged 4 points with 2 wins in three matches. The Tigers were on fire against Sri Lanka, putting aside their T20 conservatism and taking the game by the collar. Sabbir Rahman`s brilliant 80 off 54 balls led the way, with Shakib Al Hasan and Mahmudullah providing a fine finish. With the ball, Shakib did well again while Mashrafe Mortaza, Al-Amin Hossain and Mustafizur Rahman bowled critical overs with much confidence to stop Sri Lanka from overtaking their mediocre score.

However, Mustafizur, is missing due to a side strain, which will be a big blow to the home side. On the other hand, Bangladesh`s batting will be bolstered by the return of Tamim Iqbal, after he returned to Dhaka from Bangkok where his wife gave birth to their first child. Tamim is in form too, having made 267 runs in six innings during the PSL last month.

Pakistan will bank a lot on their bowling attack, especially Mohammad Amir who lit up the Asia Cup with his spells against India and UAE. They will expect more from the likes of Mohammad Sami and Mohammad Irfan, and the left-arm spinner Mohammad Nawaz.

Pakistan`s main concern will be their batting line-up, particularly their top order, which did not do well in the first two matches. Much will depend on Umar Akmal and Shoaib Malik, and on Shahid Afridi and Sarfraz Ahmed down the order.

India have already secured the final with three wins in a row. If Bangladesh win today, they will play against India in the big final on Sunday.

If Pakistan win, they the last group match between them and Sri Lanka will decide the second finalist.


Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Sabbir Rahman, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (Wicketkeeper), Mohammad Mithun, Nurul Hasan, Imrul Kayes, Mahmudullah, Nasir Hossain, Mashrafe Mortaza (Captain), Arafat Sunny, Abu Hider Roney, Taskin Ahmed, Al-Amin Hossain.

Pakistan: Mohammad Hafeez, Umar Akmal, Shoaib Malik, Shahid Afridi (Captain), Anwar Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Khurram Manzoor, Sharjeel Khan, Sarfraz Ahmed (Wicketkeeper), Mohammad Irfan, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Sami.

Other News(Cricket)

None of us had dinner after India defeat: Mashrafe Mortaza

Bangladesh captain Mashrafe Mortaza has revealed that he and his team-mates skipped dinner after their gut-wrenching one . . . Detail

Sarfraz made Pakistan`s new captain

Wicket-keeper batsman Sarfraz Ahmed was, on Tuesday, named captain of Pakistan`s Twenty20 team, replacing Shahid Afridi . . . Detail

Acting Editor: Elias Hossain, Golam Rasul Plaza (2nd Floor), 404 Dilu Road, New Eskaton, Dhaka-1000
Phone: +880-2-8312857, Fax +880-2-8311586, News Room Mobile: +880-1674757802; Email: